Scout II rust repair questions

Discussion in 'General IH Tech' started by Tremor, Oct 20, 2020.

1. Tremor

Tremor Farmall Cub

Hey everyone, Well I have decided to take the plunge and do some bodywork on my scout by myself. I had some questions regarding the general repair and was looking to get some input. The main areas I would like to address with patches are the inner and out rockers, 2 about 3 inches by 1-inch holes on the left and right of the bottom of the windshield frame, what looks to be directly under the grill and a large chunk of the fender about 8 inches from the bottom on both sides and finally the kick panel and dog leg on the drivers' side. As I'm pretty new to this but can weld decently enough to look good when ground down im just wondering if this is doable with the right tools. My main concerns are if you guys recommend tig or mig on pannels and if i missed any spots or common rust spots that I should check when I'm doing this or if anyone has any tips tricks or notes. The photos will be attached below.

Thanks everyone,
    Sam
    IMG_6504.jpg IMG_6506.jpg IMG_6507.jpg IMG_6508.jpg IMG_6499.jpg IMG_6496.jpg IMG_6500.jpg IMG_6509.jpg IMG_6510.jpg

BigEinTX likes this.
  2. Darrel

Darrel Lives in an IH Dealership

MIG or TIG doesn't matter if you take your time to control the heat and hence warpage.

If this Scout isn't sentimental sell it and find one with less rust?

3. winchested

winchested Dreams of Cub Cadets

That's a Lot of heavy rust. Windshield frame looks roasted. That's the hardest part to fix because new ones are not made.

Sent from my SM-G960W using Tapatalk

4. Tremor

Tremor Farmall Cub

It was definitely considered, I would but everything else is nearly flawless mechanically and its low miles as well as a project so id like to salvage

Darrel likes this.
  5. Tremor

Tremor Farmall Cub