BinderPlanet.com

Welcome to BinderPlanet.com the World's Premier IH Website.

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

It’s about to get REAL!!!

Binder TV

Matt harris

Farmall Cub
First off I want to say any help would be greatly appreciated! I’m completely new to the Scout world and now I’m obsessed! I recently purchased a 1976 scout ii with 345 and 4 speed Manual in running condition but needs a LOT of love! I’ve been reading a lot and trying to do as much research as possible to help me with this restoration. I have a lot of questions but will try to narrow it down to the most important ones. First one is I pulled the oil fill cap and looked inside and it’s extremely dirty so I’m going to do a compression test and then pull the engine and clean it very well. Any recommendations on getting everything really cleaned? Chemicals, procedures etc... also I want to keep the 345 but I’m worried that it’s gonna be extremely expensive especially if it needs any head or block work. Does anybody have any idea of cost for getting it all cleaned up, rings replaced etc. Next question is I have two body mounts and of course some floor board that I need to replace and before I completely tear into all the body work I want to make sure I weld in some frame/body stiffness to prevent the body from getting out of square. Is there some general measurements that everybody goes off of? What lengths and from where to where? Lastly I have to put all new seats in and I’ve seen where people go to pick and pulls and get PT cruiser seats, ford box body seats and some other models that will work but I’m wondering if it would just be easier to get new Corbeau seats like I see a lot of people buy or is there other models of used cars that the seats work real good with scouts? Again thanks for any help and I hope this th