Choosing a new cam

Discussion in 'General IH Tech' started by Darrell Tuxworth, Nov 19, 2020.

1. Darrell Tuxworth

Darrell Tuxworth High Wheeler

I currently have an ISKY 256/262 cam and am going to be replacing it.
    ScoutII is a 345 4 speed, 3.73 and 33's used for just about everything, off-road, daily driving, highway travel (to the trails in another state) and remote exploring as well as towing about 4k lbs.
    I am a low rpm type driver, I don't typically rev the IH mill very hi...after all it is a truck motor so I am looking at low RPM cams. Off road I usually drive at 800-1600 rpm and just let the engine lope along.
    I am looking at two Comp Cam grinds:
    252 grind 800-4500 rpm range
    260 grind 1000-5000 rpm range
    The engine will handle the 5k range of the 260 grind but I really don't need that much rpm and the 252 would suit my needs just fine.
    Does anyone have any experience with either cam?
    I do want a little more rpm than a stock cam (3600ish) and since you can't get new that is out.

Darrell

Last edited: Nov 19, 2020
  2. Dreamingofbinding

Dreamingofbinding Farmall Cub

I’m very interested in this conversation. What are the downsides of these options vs stock?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

3. Darrell Tuxworth

The stock cam is a great low rpm torque cam but runs out of oomph early and when pulling a steep grade with the 4 speed and the trailer you need to get a bit more upper end rpm to stay in the powerband when you shift.
    That and the fact you can't get a "new" only reground used factory cam it's out for me. I am not sure there is any real downside other than maybe slightly less low, like under 1k rpm-ish torque. But I just guessing as I have never seen any actual apples fr apples dyno tests.

Darrell

Patrick Morris likes this.
  4. Dreamingofbinding

Dreamingofbinding Farmall Cub