Brutus Build

Discussion in 'Binder Builds' started by SteelBuck, Nov 4, 2020.

1. SteelBuck

SteelBuck Farmall Cub

I posted a couple things prior to this but decided to do a build thread. Recently bought a 1963 Scout 80, all original from what I can tell at this point. My daughter named it Brutus so I decided to go with that. Just got the motor pulled yesterday. This is my first build, and really the first time I’ve done major work on a vehicle so it should be interesting. I attached some pics of the motor, standard 152. If you see anything that looks bad, feel free to let me know. I need all the help I can get diagnosing things and deciding what needs replaced. She ran when I got her, but sounded rough. The only thing I've done so far is rebuilt the Holley 1904 carb. Then I got to work on pulling the engine. Best part about it is my 15 year old son has started to show an interest in it so we will have some good times ahead working on it together. Thanks everyone.

62446913878__0FFA4DE4-4CF8-4564-B48B-F45A90480930.jpg IMG_4108.jpg IMG_4379.jpg IMG_4438.jpg

IMG_4454.jpg IMG_4450.jpg IMG_4448.jpg IMG_4447.jpg IMG_4445.jpg IMG_4444.jpg IMG_4443.jpg IMG_4441.jpg

Arkansas Dave, J.J. and 800bman like this.
  2. Randall Barringer

Randall Barringer Y-Block King

Welcome! Great looking Scout.
    This picture caught my attention. Not sure if you're aware or not, but all of those welds are not factory. Someone must have been having some clutch issues.
    [​IMG]

800bman and SteelBuck like this.
  3. SteelBuck

SteelBuck Farmall Cub

Thanks Randall. Yeah I saw the welds and figured something wasn’t quite right. I’m not sure what they were trying to fix, but it is something I’ll have to address. I know the PO said he replaced the slave clutch cylinder but I don’t what the welds are about. I’m sure it won’t be the only mystery!

4. mongocanfly

mongocanfly High Wheeler

Oh the horror..!!..somebody welded IH logo bolts..!!..haha