1966 Scout 800 Restoration

Discussion in 'General IH Tech' started by Matthew G., Nov 2, 2020.

1. Matthew G.

Matthew G. Farmall Cub

Good Evening Everyone,

I have recently purchased a pretty solid 66 Scout. This has the 266 motor in it and much to my dismay, there are virtually no rebuild kits available for this motor. I have searched everywhere I could possibly find. I am thinking of swapping it for a 345. Since I am new to this, I had questions of whether or not the 345 would fit, whether or not it would marry up to the transmission that is there now, and what other issues (if any) I would possibly run in to when making the swap. It seems a shame to take out the original 266, but it seems I have no choice. I plan on giving it a 1-2" lift also. Any help, suggestions or feedback would be greatly appreciated. I have attached photos of my 66. It goes for its beginning frame-off journey this weekend. Many thanks to all who comment or can lend guidance to me on this!

Respectfully,

Matthew

Attached Files:

2. scout2000

scout2000 Lives in an IH Dealership

Welcome to BinderPlanet and congratulations on your new Scout.

If I were in your shoes and plans to stay with an IH SV engine, the 345 is definitely where I would be planning to go.

3. Matthew G.

Matthew G. Farmall Cub

Thank you sir! Do you foresee there being a great deal of trouble replacing the 266 with the 345? I guess that I can sell the 266 since they are hard to find?..it's missing the left rocker assembly only. Everything else is there, but I can't rebuild it with new pistons..etc.

4. scout2000

From a very high level - aside from the obvious displacement differences, the 345 and 392 have a higher deck vs the 266 && 304. I wouldn't expect deck height to be an issue in a truck for an engine swap.