Binder Planet
BinderPlanet

Go Back   Binder Planet Forums > General Forums > General IH Tech

Old 01-20-2010, 06:03 PM
Farmall Cub

Default Frame off restoration, building a homeade car dolly

Hey Im about the take the body off from the frame and need to build a body dolly so I can move it around the shop and also to sandblast the frame etc. Anyone built one for a Scout II before? I was just wondering before I build this frankenstein body dolly. Also anyone who has taken of the body before anything special for a scout? I've never done one before so this will be FUN!! Oh and I'll take pics of the fun..
Old 01-20-2010, 06:35 PM
High Wheeler

Default Re: Frame off restoration, building a homeade car dolly

I would weld in brace to to doors to help support the tub when its off the frame. You might need more if the tub has been weakened by rust!

And make sure the dolly is heavy duty enough to support the weight of the tub its heavy!
-55 Chevy 210 Delray 235/3sp
-56 Chevy Belair 4 door hardtop*next project* 5.3/4l60/3.08's

LSx swap info
Old 01-20-2010, 06:53 PM
Binder Driver

Here is a link from the JI site. It was made for an 80 but something similar would work for a Scout II.
Look at the bottom of the first page and the top of the second.

http://www.justih.org/Binder-Bench/s...ead.php?t=9647
1967 Travelall panel
I predict future happiness for Americans if they can prevent the government from wasting the labors of the people under the pretense of taking care of them.
Thomas Jefferson
Old 01-20-2010, 07:47 PM
Farmall Cub

Now thats a heavy duty setup Thanks for the ideas!!
Old 01-20-2010, 09:30 PM
Moderator.. or something

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caveblazin View Post
Now thats a heavy duty setup Thanks for the ideas!!

I agree that's nice and simple. Keep in mind however that the back side of SII bodies are heavier than 80/800's, and will sag, expectantly if you don't brace the door openings.