Binder Planet
BinderPlanet

Go Back   Binder Planet Forums > General Forums > General IH Tech

Facebook Twitter Banner

Old 10-09-2009, 09:40 PM
Farmall Cub

Default Cracked sidewalls on Tires - Dangerous?

I've been storing these 33" super swampers outside for about 5-7 yrs. I finally put the body lift on to accomodate them, got rid of the rust and painted the rims they are on - only to put them on fill them w/air and discover these disturbing cracks along the sidewalls

These are Bias ply TSLs with min wear. The markings say 4 ply nylon on the sidewall. The guy at the tire/brake shop told me not to run them, my friend who's a mechanic said they're fine - I don't know?

I am sure these have very thick sidewalls. My plans are to use these for wheeling/camping trips. I lke to go 4-6hrs away for such occasions, so i'm sure the tires will get hot espacialy going up in altitude. Then there is the stresses from airing down and flexing them over rocks...

Anyone have experience or advice on this? I have 33" BFG Mud terrains for around town, but it's these tires I've been lokng forward to. FYI, the second set is now in the garage.
Thanks for the help!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	tsl01.jpg
Views:	153
Size:	216.2 KB
ID:	41548   Click image for larger version

Name:	tsl01a.jpg
Views:	191
Size:	227.4 KB
ID:	41549   Click image for larger version

Name:	tsl02.jpg
Views:	148
Size:	234.7 KB
ID:	41550   Click image for larger version

Name:	tsl02a.jpg
Views:	153
Size:	218.2 KB
ID:	41551  
2 1/2 rancho springs (under), 1 1/2 shackles, 1 1/2 body lift (borgeson)
detroit-rear, trac lock-front
354s - 33" Swampers
Old 10-09-2009, 10:09 PM
Farmall Cub

Send a message via AIM to Lowell
Default Re: Cracked sidewalls on Tires - Dangerous?

I wish I knew the answer to that question!