wiring pointers for direct-to-battery connection

Discussion in 'General IH Tech' started by scout2000, May 22, 2020 at 3:50 PM.

1. scout2000

scout2000 Dreams of Cub Cadets

This is a stupid/basic entry level wiring question for my Scout 800. I purchased a big bluetooth speaker bar for my 800. Pic link here:

http://www.binderplanet.com/forums/...800a-build-thread.119223/page-28#post-1100107

The vendor suggest wiring (the supplied wiring harness) directly to the battery. The supplied harness does provide an inline fuse. I know I can get the correct end to the battery, and some how attach it, but its just something I've never done before.

What is the correct/professional way to attach a device to the battery? few things detract from a vehicle like poor wiring, I just want to do this correctly.

TIA for helpful comments/URL's/pointers.

2. stevewillis

stevewillis Farmall Cub

For the physical connection, I would probably crimp a ring terminal on if your battery has bolts at the terminal connectors. If your battery has lugs, you can get something like this:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07C41STTJ/

I actually have these. They are flashier than I like, but it makes it simple to connect bare for accessories wire with just a hex key. Bear in mind that anything connected directly to the battery won't register on your ammeter properly. You might consider connecting the cable with the inline fuse to the proper ammeter terminal instead, but check that your device won't draw more current than the ammeter was designed for.

scout2000 likes this.
  3. scout2000

Thanks for the reply. I'm a big fan of hex fastener anything.

Not a problem, at least in my case, my ammeter, along with the entirity of my OEM instrument cluster is long gone. Traded off for a set of Jr. West Coast Scout 800 side view mirrors.

I have replaced all the instruments with AutoMeter gauges + D&C Extreme 4x4 aluminum dash plate.

4. RinTX

RinTX High Wheeler