wiring help

Discussion in 'General IH Tech' started by mudturk37, May 11, 2009.

1. mudturk37

mudturk37 Farmall Cub

the Scout that I recently purchased had a terrible wiring job to the rear and the tail lights were not even installed....the previous electrician had ran house wire from the front to the rear and used wire nuts to connect everything

in the interest of saving money on a project that may never see the road, i have decided to try rewire the entire rear harness from scratch

i'm trying to follow this wiring diagragm

http://www.binderblues.com/main/tech_imgs/rearharn.gif

i'm ignoring the interior dome lights and all i need to wire are rear side marker lights, tail lights, brake lights, reverse light, and license plate light, 5 circuits from my count......i didnt forget about the fuel sending unit either

coming out of the front firewall is a cluster of 7 wires, 5 black and 2 green which i presume to be grounds (this might be a good time to mention i am an amateur electrician as well as amateur mechanic) :banana:

i've got plenty of 16 gauge wire ready and i've practiced my soldering skills.....i've also got enough wire protector sleeve and heat shrink tubing to wire a whole fleet of Scouts

i guess i just need a place to start.....advice / tips / help?

should i start with the drivers side marker light and work my way around and up to the front? start at the front and work my way back? i'm kinda confused how i'm going to splice everything together without connectors??? for some stupid reason i also thought i could ground everything directly to the body but then what are the two grounds included in the cluster of wires (if in fact they are grounds in the first place)

i'll finish by saying that i have a degree in mechanical engineering so i'm at least confident that i can accomplish about anything if i try so i don't imagine wiring some tail lights would be too hard to figure out....i just need a kick in the right direction

:beer: :scout: