Vapor Storage Canister Help

Discussion in 'General IH Tech' started by NorCalMike, Aug 8, 2019.

1. NorCalMike

NorCalMike Farmall Cub

I am new to the Binder Planet Forums. I just bought my first Scout in June and am trying to get it running, smogged and registered. My 1978 Scout 2 has a 345, 2 barrel 2210 carburetor, and 727 trans. It has not been driven in 15 years and was last registered in 1998. I have it running but need to get smogged before I can register and enjoy it. I live in California so I have the challenge passing that overly strict smog test which includes a visual inspection of all the emission control parts.

I have the 345 running nicely now. I am missing a few emissions components that prevent me from passing a smog test though.

The vapor storage canister the Scout came with is not the one described in the manual. Mine has only two ports and no bottom vent. I am looking to buy one with 4 ports like the one on my emissions sticker (purge port, vapor separator port, carb bowl port and control vacuum signal port) like the manual says i should have. I can find aftermarket canisters but they usually only have 3 ports (I think it is the vacuum signal port that is missing on them). Is there a source for the 4 port canisters? What have you all done to get around this?

I am also missing the Vacuum Solenoid Valve that bolts to the firewall and controls the throttle modulator (which also has a leak) I have never found anything close to a replacment part for this solenoid. Is there a source for this CA only part?

Any help is much appreciated.

2. Patrick Morris

Patrick Morris Lives in an IH Dealership

Welcome. There was a very recent thread on those canisters and where they can be bought now. Chrysler might be a manufacturer. Anyway just do a search.

And that dealie on the firewall, probably one of the Light Line dealers will have one for you. Shame that you have to have one since the do so little for emissions.