Tractor newbie-what should I buy?

Discussion in 'Tractor Tech' started by BigRigg, May 9, 2019.

1. BigRigg

BigRigg Y-Block King

Hi gang,
    I have 6 acres. 5 of it is pasture and I brush hog it a few times per year. I had a Ford 8n fall into my lap, and it serves the brush hogging purpose. There are a few things wrong with it.
    1. Its a ford.
    2. It doesnt have a loader bucket.
    3. It's not geared low enough
    4. It doesnt have a whole lot of power.
    5. Its a Ford.

I find myself wanting more out of my tractor. I want to sell the 8n, and get an IH. But there are so many models, I dont really know where to start. I am a total newbie to farm tractors. I've worked with skidders, backhoes, graders, but this is new.

30 + hp, 4x4, loader bucket for moving things like rocks, bales of hay, scouts, trucks, and other farm stuff. It needs to be somewhat dependable, and easily had parts would be great!

What do you think?

2. DT466

DT466 Farmall Cub

It partly depends on how much money you want to spend. I tend to be a fan of older pre-CaseIH models, but few of those are 4x4.

Dean

3. BigRigg

BigRigg Y-Block King

Well...its more about the month to month than the overall price. For example, I can get a new kubota or whatever for %0 financing. But they are 30k. If I could get a comparable yet older red tractor for similar month to month, then I'd be for that. I just read a ton of info on the case/IH mergers. Interesting stuff!

4. BigRigg

BigRigg Y-Block King

4x4 would be nice, but I dont think it's a must have. I'd like a loader bucket for hauling wood, gravel driveway maintenance, pulling tubs off of scouts...and something that will do good with a brushog. In reality, something slightly bigger than the 8n, with a loader would fit the bill...if I can get parts for it

5. Packerrailway

Packerrailway High Wheeler