T35 Bellhousing and Flywheel housing questions

Discussion in 'General IH Tech' started by Wolfemax, Aug 29, 2014.

1. Wolfemax

Wolfemax Farmall Cub

Hi, I'm very new to the IH world, and somewhat by accident. I bought a D354 Perkins from a 60's International cabover for a repower I've just started working on and it came with what I believe to be a T35 transmission. I was expecting an SAE bellhousing but my measurements don't match any SAE pattern that I've found. I've tried to find which pattern it has, but I haven't been able to confirm. I've read on BP (from what I understand) about guys replacing their engines with 6.9/7.3 diesels, and bolting their T35's up to it. Would it be possible to do the opposite - bolt a ZF5 from a Ford 6.9/7.3 to my Perkins? Would I need the flywheel housing as well as the bellhousing (which is integrated with the transmission case on the ZF)? Here's a pic of the measurements of the flywheel housing on my Perkins: [​IMG]

Any insight is greatly appreciated.
    Thanks!

This is the transmission:
    [​IMG]

2. Wolfemax

Wolfemax Farmall Cub

I tried looking at the pictures that I posted, and I can't read the measurements, so I'm assuming that you can't either. The distances from bolt hole to bolt hole, starting at the 9 o'clock (or so) position and continuing clockwise are 6.25" 5.25" 8.25" 5.25" and 6.25". The two bottom bolt holes are much smaller than the other 6, and they're 7 7/16" (7.4375) apart.

3. ruderunner

ruderunner High Wheeler

I can't answer your question directly but I can shed some light on the Ford ZF transmission. The ZF for the diesles have a different bellhousing pattern that the Ford gas engines AND they still use an adaptor plate to mate to the IH 6.9/7.3.

I'm pretty sure the Perkins bellhousing pattern is different from the 6.9/7.3 (MV series engines) anyways so it won't work.

4. Paul "Misterfixit" Schulz

Paul "Misterfixit" Schulz Super Mod from Downunder Staff Member Administrator Moderator