Super Swampers on a dually

Discussion in 'The Truck Stop' started by Beachead, Dec 25, 2015.

1. Beachead

Beachead Farmall Cub

I have always liked the look of a dually 4x4 with some aggressive, big lugged tires on them.
    Since I have obtained my new Frankenstein 1510 4x4, I've been looking at the narrower Super Swampers, such as the 34x10.50-17 LTB or 33x9.50-17 SX tires. I need to ditch the 17.5" rims that are on it currently and step down to a 17, which looks like would fit. Probably a 17x7 or 17x8.
    I have a lot of experience with Swampers on my Jeeps over the years but never on a big truck or dually.

My questions are:
    Will I still be able to retain some, or most of the trucks carrying capacity with a tire like that?
    These SS tires are bias 8 or 10 ply. Is that enough? I need to see what load range options they come in.
    Anyone have any experience with putting that type of tire on a dually, any safety concerns in doing so?
    I definitely need to put new tires on it and want the nasty tires, but want it to be done right.
    Thanks

2. Beachead

Beachead Farmall Cub

So I ended up getting the E rated Super Swamper sxIIs in 33x9.50-17. I found GM 17x6.5" 8 on 6.5 new steel wheels to use with the tires. Here is a pic of what it will kinda look like.
    20160108_152212.jpg 20160108_152016.jpg

3. BO185

BO185 Y-Block King

Measure the hub opening on the GM wheels. I know they will not fit the 1210 3/4 ton axle hubs. Most guys use Dodge or Ford rims because of this. I would make sure rims fit over hubs before spending money to have them mounted.

4. Beachead

Beachead Farmall Cub

The truck has GM 8 lug wheels on it already, I did measure the hubs, looks to be all good. I still have to order the wheels yet.
    As to why it has the 8 lug axles on it, I'm not sure yet, old owner may have swapped the hubs/brakes when he put the GM hydro boost setup on? The front is closed knuckle D70F and rear is an Eaton.

5. BO185

BO185 Y-Block King