SSII conversion, what order?

Discussion in 'SSII' started by KnowtheCrow, Nov 10, 2003.

1. KnowtheCrow

KnowtheCrow Farmall Cub

Hi, I'm new to this specific board, I have been posting to the tech talk forum about general SII questions and have really enjoyed the help and being part of this great group.
    My question is, I'm doing an SSII conversion on a '74 SII and I was wondering if I could get some insight into what order to do things, such as should the soft-top go on before the inserts? I have the complete kit ordered, everything's here but the top, it will be here in a couple weeks.
    Any and all help is greatly appreciated, this is my third Scout. The day before I bought my first one 15 years ago, a '76 SII, I went to a sale and just missed an SSII, I've wanted one every since. So when I actually found a decent Scout way down here in the Big Bend of Texas, and found out that there were conversion kits available, I jumped in head first. I live extremely remote and have to depend on the internet for parts supplies and most impotantly information. Thanks, Corey :)

2. Hooper

Hooper Y-Block King

Hmm, I suppose the first thing to do is remove the top.. ;)

Remove Top
    Remove Hard Doors
    Install inner insert
    Install outer insert
    Install hinge and latch catch hardware
    Install door skins on door frames
    Install door latch on frame

I think the bed rails on the SSII and SII are a little different. At least, it seems like they are to me, but I could be wrong...

Install the hard top hardware, then drop the top on. Easy as pie.

3. KnowtheCrow

KnowtheCrow Farmall Cub

Order of conversion install.

Hooper, Thanks for the quick reply, I have the hard-top and doors off, I just didn't know if I would be adjusting the soft-top to the doors or the doors to the top or inserts or the other way around, thats what I meant by what order so that I'd have room for tweaking to get the best fit for all these components.