Opening disassembling cleaning gauges on dash 1967 Scout 800 help

Discussion in 'Anything Scout' started by JOHN KONTER, Mar 24, 2020.

1. JOHN KONTER

JOHN KONTER Farmall Cub

I have a 1967 Scout 800 that I want to clean the gauges and paint the needles. I am wondering how to open these safely because I am new to this and I do not want to mess anything up. any and all ideas and prior knowledge of doing this is greatly appreciated. Another question is how do I clean gauge holder whatever it is called and the knob thank you
    20200324_151903.jpg 20200324_152023.jpg 20200324_152047.jpg 20200324_152105.jpg 20200324_151812.jpg 20200324_152809.jpg 20200324_152751.jpg 20200324_153126.jpg 20200324_153134.jpg

Last edited: Mar 24, 2020
  2. Randall Barringer

Randall Barringer Y-Block King

Gauge panel just needs to be sanded and painted.
    The knobs have pitting that can´t be fixed, but some steel wool will help them look a little better.
    Do a search on here for the guage rehab process.

JOHN KONTER likes this.
  3. JOHN KONTER

JOHN KONTER Farmall Cub

4. Dana Strong

Dana Strong Lives in an IH Dealership

They can be carefully sanded, any noticeable pits filled with epoxy (then resanded as needed) and sprayed with an epoxy-based metallic silver paint; the letter needs to be hand painted last. If done carefully, they will look great and last that way for a long time, even in regular use.

Someone here did a good write-up about his project of doing that. An outside (E.G. Google) search function, trying different words until you find it, might be the best option if someone else doesn't link to it first. The format is:
    search term(s) site:Binderplanet.com​

JOHN KONTER likes this.
  5. Greg R

Greg R Lives in an IH Dealership