Nuts and bolts guide

Discussion in 'General IH Tech' started by Rollercam, Apr 19, 2017.

1. Rollercam

Rollercam Farmall Cub

I am a newbie when it comes to working on scouts. I purchased a project (1978 scout II in pieces, it is 100% completely blown apart) and I may have bit off more than I can chew, but I am going to give it a shot. My question revolves around hardware. Is there a resource or a guide that lists bolt, screw, and nut sizes, length, and thread pitch for the various fasteners used throughout a scout? I received a box full of fasteners with my purchase, but nothing is labeled. I am hoping that there is a resource out there that can help me. I would like to just purchase all new fasteners for everything, but I don't know what to purchase. Any help would appreciated. I know I have a daunting task ahead of me, but nothing is impossible. I can use the trial and error method and make it through, but I thought there might be an off chance that I wouldn't have to do that. Thanks in advance for the help.

2. MrKenmore

MrKenmore Y-Block King

Well, the good news there is little to no metric on the Scout. I think the power steering pump may have some metric hardware but that's about it. I wouldn't say there is a guide out there. Most fasteners are your run of the mill coarse thread 1/4-20, 5/16-18 and 3/8-16. The second number being the threads per inch. I would say 1/4 and 5/16 are the most popular for body panels. There are a handful of fine thread in the engine compartment. Typically a stud where one side is coarse and the other is fine. If I were you, I would get a box (100) of 1/4, 5/16, 3/8 in various lengths (3/4, 1, 1 1/4) and take what you need. Also look into SAE washers which have a smaller OD and can be often more convenient. Grade 5 zinc plated would be what you normally find out. However, in an engine compartment, those zinc plated fasteners can look a little out of place (too shiny).

3. eightOsix

eightOsix Binder Driver

4. RD Durham