New concerned and discouraged scout owner

Discussion in 'General IH Tech' started by Rollercam, Apr 8, 2016.

1. Rollercam

Rollercam Farmall Cub

I am new to the world of scouts and it seems that I may have ignorantly just jumped right in without knowing what I was really getting myself into. I have had several muscle cars, but I was wanting something different. I purchased a 78 scout this past weekend to become a fun weekend cruiser. It does have a 4" lift on it, but I do not plan to ever do any real off-road driving with it. For me, the lift is just for looks. The scout that I bought is a little rough around the edges and I knew it was going to take some money to make it truly road worthy, but after reading things in this forum as well as elsewhere, I am now not sure that it is possible to truly make it "road worthy". Honestly, I have really become discouraged. I was not planning to drive it across the country, but i was hoping to perhaps use it to take the wife and kids to the lake, but the more I read, the more it seems as if these vehicles are unstable, unpredictable, prone to wandering, and really just not meant to take on the highway for any kind of extended mileage trip. Am I wrong? Can a person make a scout reliable and safe? I know it is a scout. I am not expecting it to be like a new Tahoe, but now I am almost scared to even let my kids ride in it around the neighborhood. Are these vehicles that unsound? Should I remove the lifted springs or perhaps go with a 2" lift instead? I know rollovers are always a concern in a short wheel based vehicle with a high center of gravity, but should I just assume that it is going to happen? It has a show bar, that I realize is just that, a " show bar" and not a true roll bar or cage, but it has to better than nothing. Should I truly be hesitant about putting my kids in the vehicle at all? I just bought the scout, but I am already wondering if I should not put any money into it at all and just sell it.

2. hacri