Low compression, miss

Discussion in 'General IH Tech' started by paintguy, Aug 20, 2020.

1. paintguy

paintguy Farmall Cub

First off I'm new to ihc Engines but have played with other flavors. Acquired a 1973 scout with the 345 v8 auto. Purchased new battery, cleaned all connections (hate wireing Issues). Point were burnt up, replace points, condensor, rotor, cap. Installed new coil as their was not one, new plugs and wires. Engine would turn over but still sprayed cylinders with oil to lube. Compression check all cylinders have close to 110lb except #3 which has 90lb. Engine starts and idles but has a dead miss. Remove #3 wire no change. I'm guessing a burnt valve but not familiar at all with theses engines. When I pull the heads is their anything I need to look for or replace while I'm in it ? Thanks for the help just a newbie to these and don't want to miss something.

2. jeff campbell

jeff campbell Lives in an IH Dealership

Put a new plug in # 3. See if it changes or not. If not, then get at it.

vince konicki likes this.
  3. 1975IH200

1975IH200 Y-Block King

The IHC engine is the same as the others. Troubleshoot like you would any other gasoline-spark ignition engine.
    Correct as necessary.
    I don't understand your thought process of a "dead cylinder" equals a head removal without further investigation.
    But it is your engine, so do what you will.
    Over and Out.

jeff campbell likes this.
  4. Darrel

Darrel Dreams of Cub Cadets

OP said new plugs and wires installed so if pulling a wire doesn't affect how it runs that's a pretty good clue. :) If you want to narrow it further before pulling the heads you can run a leak down test. 110 sounds tired - if it turns over fast, gauge is accurate, and the throttle was wide open.

5. mallen

mallen Y-Block King