Lifted Suspension Question

Discussion in 'General IH Tech' started by Rollercam, Apr 7, 2018.

1. Rollercam

Rollercam Farmall Cub

First off, I am by no means a 4 wheel drive expert. I have some basic knowledge of things and I am trying to learn more all of the time. A couple of years ago I purchased a 78 scout II that had a newly installed rough country 4” lift kit on it. It was a pretty rough ride, especially the rear. I replaced the shocks with some skyjacker M95 monotubes that I was able to get at a good price. It was better, but still not great. I am not expecting a smooth caddy ride, but I think I can do better without starting completely over.

So, as the scout sits today, it has 4” rough country lift springs and skyjacker M95 monotube shocks. Everything else is factory or stock replacement.

The scout is currently in a local shop getting some electrical work and general tuning ironed out. The guy working on it said with the 4” lift he is concerned about the pinion angle of the front driveshaft. He wants to add some shims to try and straighten it out a bit. My concern is that if he tries to alter the pinion angle with shims then it will give me more negative caster. Am I thinking correctly? He does not seem that concerned about the caster, but I want drivability and safety.

I would really like to keep my 4” lift. Even though they are notoriously stiff, I would also like to just go ahead and keep my rough country springs to avoid having to buy new springs. Could I possibly get some bilstein or fox shocks to dampen the ride better? They could always be revalved later if something changes.

So, here is what I am thinking right now:

4” rough country springs (I already have them on the scout and they have very few miles on them)
    Bilstein or Fox 2.0 shocks
    Reverse shackle kit for front end
    5” shackle for the back (I am hoping this will level out the truck after adding some height with the reverse shackle)