Lean BLM Enrichment Options

Discussion in 'Injection Tech' started by JoeHall, Nov 11, 2019.

1. JoeHall

JoeHall Farmall Cub

With the successful re-phasing, and timing now correct on the 1st Studebaker, I returned to the 2nd Studebaker and repeated the exact procedures. So now both cars have perfect timing, throughout the curve, which matches original Stude specs.

So I can now compare both cars' driving impressions, and ALDL data. I have conquered WinALDL hookup, and it only takes a minute to connect and be ready to start the car. I am still learning, but can now understand most on-screen info: Flag & Sensor Data, Error Codes, BLM, and INT (still learning about o2). It is interesting to compare the two cars' data, and their BLM contrast has been enlightening.

The 2nd car runs like it should, and (wide avg) BLMs are all in the 120s, mostly mid-120s. Its FP is 13 PSI cold (permanently mounted FP gauge under the hood), and TPS is .55v. I love the way it now runs (with phasing/timing corrected), and do not plan to change anything.

The 1st car, till yesterday had rough idle, low power, and frequently bogged under light to moderate throttle, especially at 120-170 degrees; it's BLMs were 140s-150s, FP was 12.5 PSI cold, and TPS .55v. Yesterday, at cold idle, I pinched the return line till the FP gauge went to around 20. I then carefully pinched it to hold 15 PSI, and noticed the idle picked up about 50 RPM, and smoothed out. So I then adjusted the FPR spring to max, and got 14.75 on the gauge. I then took it out for 45 miles of data collecting. The BLMs are now all in the 130s, mostly mid-130s. Performance is much improved: smoother idle, more power, and almost no bogging. However, overall, it still does not perform as well as the other car, and I believe it is due to the BLM difference. Why the difference, I am not sure.