K-6-250

Discussion in 'Triple Diamond Trucks' started by desert_K6, Aug 21, 2018.

1. desert_K6

desert_K6 Farmall Cub

So for no intelligent reason I went and bought a 46' K-6-250. I've always wanted to restore a vehicle and a two ton truck is as least useful. Slightly daunting in size, but useful.

I am not a mechanic, but I am mechanically inclined. I understand the basic components and what they should do.
    So far I have changed the plugs, ground strap, coil wire to distributor, coil wire to battery, moved the starter wires around (they are 1/0), replaced the plug wires, drained the coolant and oil, rebuilt the carb, and got bit by several hundred ants (I live in Az)

I have isolated the electrical system so I don't start a fire or burn out the gauges. I did get it to run for a couple of seconds before I stopped it.
    Any help on what kind of oil goes in the transmission or rear diff? And whether or not the exhaust is supposed to go through the passenger fender? I assume not by the ugly peanut butter welds.

Attached Files:

scout2000 likes this.
  2. scout2000

scout2000 Dreams of Cub Cadets

Congratulations on your new truck and welcome to Binder Planet.

From your pictures, looks like a pretty neat truck. What do things look like under the hood?

Same type of things, I believe, that most of us would have gone thru. Swap out all the fluids, filters, check out brake pads and other items designed to wear out.

Just curious, did you have any problem finding a rebuild kit for the carb?

yea, I know about those. I have a bunch of their relatives living down here near me in Texas. :(

Thats pretty neat, that you know that the engine in not only not frozen/rusted up, but that it turns over and starts. Prior to your maintenance, do you know how long it had been since it had last ran? Any history from the Previous owner?

Wish I had an answer for you on the lubricant, but someone here will.