In need of carb Guru's

Discussion in 'General IH Tech' started by ddedman, Jun 16, 2015.

1. ddedman

ddedman Farmall Cub

I know that there is a wealth of knowledge out there in regards to the carburetors used for the IH's. Here is my dilemma, I have been chasing a gas smell around my scout and have most of it figured out except the constant smell of gas within the engine compartment. First I looked leaks and found none, verified float position, thought it could be running rich so adjusted the fuel mixture screws till I had steady idle (no vacuum gauge) and all in all the scout itself runs relatively well with the exception of difficulty starting when hot (seems flooded, hold the pedal to the floor and it clears and starts). First off I am new to messing with carbs so be gentle. Prior to first start I did clean the carb and replace the gaskets but that is about as far as I am comfortable in going as far as rebuilds. I believe this is a holley 2300. It is stamped 428091-C91 list 6380 101. I dont know what jets are in it as I did not verify that when the bowl was off. I also dont know what CFM it is. I would suspect the 350 CFM version just by estimating the size of the Venturi? I pulled the electric choke of for a visual inspection for leaks and found what appears to be seepage from the base gasket and or a possible leak from the cam lever that controls the choke idle speed.

[​IMG]

I guess what I am looking for from the experts is your thoughts and direction I should go. I have an idea that a proper rebuild and new base plate gasket is probably the answer however want your opinions.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. walkersscout

walkersscout High Wheeler