How would you proceed?

Discussion in 'General IH Tech' started by DoublecabTravelall, Feb 15, 2020.

1. DoublecabTravelall

DoublecabTravelall Farmall Cub

I have been working on starting a motor that has sat for several years and I have gotten it running for a few seconds. I am unable to keep it running because when I feed fuel to the Carter AFB carb is overflows the bowl and starts coming out of the top. I am feeding it from a 1 gallon tank of fresh fuel with a filter in place. I am using a hand pump to start the fuel flow and then attaching it to the carb with the gas can higher than the carb. Im assuming the carb is gummed up from sitting. First, am I doing something wrong with my fueling process? Im not planning on keeping the carb. Is it worth rebuilding it to make sure everything is good on the motor prior to buying a fuel injection kit? I would hate to spend all of that money and the motor turn out to have a major problem but Im not sure what all to check. Compression? Oil pressure? Cannot really check oil pressure without the motor operating correct? Thanks in advance.

2. Don B

Don B Binder Driver

Maybe someone can loan you a carb to test the engine out. It would help if you had your location in your profile.

Don B

scout2000 and Chris Cooper like this.
  3. Dana Strong

Dana Strong Lives in an IH Dealership

You really need to provide many more details for readers to understand the situation. What make, model and year is the vehicle, what's its history, which engine, which transmission, what are the plans for it, etc.. Good pictures always provide much detail that a quick description can't. Also, what is your mechanical background, do you have a Factory Service Manual, and what part of the world do you live in; your location can be added to the box on your left by editing your Personal Details after clicking your name on the top right of the page.

scout2000 likes this.
  4. Chris Cooper

Chris Cooper Binder Driver