How to find the right turbo?

Discussion in 'Diesel Tech' started by Whitten, May 27, 2020.

1. Whitten

Whitten Farmall Cub

Ok, I am new to the diesel world and I have read almost all of these threads, which are really helpful! My question is, how do I find the correct turbo model? For example if I wanted to get the Mercedes replacemnt Airresearch turbo, how do I know which one is correct? When I search on ebay and/or Google 20 different turbos seem to come up. How do I know which one is the correct one to buy? Thanks for any advice, yes I am new to all of this.

On a side note I am also looking at the HX35W possibly. Not sure how to find the correct one of those either. Thanks for any info on this.

2. Joe S

Joe S Farmall Cub

The MB you want is out of a '77 to '85. Don't want the late Kal version. The one you want just has the wastegate actuator on it with a hose to the compressor housing. No other junk.

What's the HX35 out of? You don't want bigger. The advantage of the MB TC is the smaller area ratio turbine that makes boost at a lower engine rpm. Doesn't make any more than stock.

3. Whitten

Whitten Farmall Cub