hinge suggestions?

Discussion in 'General IH Tech' started by superfishyall, Feb 5, 2019.

1. superfishyall

superfishyall Farmall Cub

I want to re-use this hinge. Either it was off to begin with, or I bent it a little trying to get the old pin out, but as you can see from these pics, the lower part of this hinge is far enough off that the pin won't slide through. Should I:
    a. use a BFH;
    b. drill the lower part out slightly; or
    c. heat it up with a torch and bend it into place?​
    I think the correct answer is c. I have a torch, but I have little experience heating metal up red hot and pounding on it. I'm worried I will heat it up too much or hit it too hard and really muck it up. Thanks.
    2019-02-05 20.09.09.jpg 2019-02-05 20.09.13.jpg

2. Dana Strong

Dana Strong Lives in an IH Dealership

I can't tell from the picture what it's made of and although it looks like cast iron because of the pits, I'll assume they are from rusting and that it's a steel forging. Iff so, and it won't easily break, I'd just put it in a vise, centered on the part you want to bend and with the beginning of that section at the top of the jaw. Then I'd get the largest crescent wrench I had, adjust it to just fit over that part, put the pin through (only) its hole (both to prevent crushing, and as a guide to the amount of movement), and carefully apply pressure in the direction you want it to move.

Which of the two parts do you think got bent? If the pin is put into the other section, how does it align with this hole? Once installed, which side would be on top? One more consideration; might some of the offset be purposeful,, to keep the pin tight once driven home? How is the set on the other door?

3. superfishyall