Help with no spark

Discussion in 'General IH Tech' started by rexdropssticks, Feb 15, 2020.

1. rexdropssticks

rexdropssticks Farmall Cub

Hi everyone, I'm new to here because I am at a dead end with my 78 scout plow vehicle. It will not start ,no spark, I have thrown all the obvious parts at it, New cap, rotor, plugs, pertonix ignition replacement ,all to no avail. It has the prestolite electronic distributor and no gold box on the firewall or any where else. There is a silver box on the firewall with a little what looks like vacuum unit attached but there's no hoses hooked to It now. It appears to be oil filled as it is leaking something. What is this and where could I get one? I have tested everything else and suspect this must be the culprit? Any suggestions? Thank you for your time

Attached Files:

2. bobn

bobn Binder Driver

I have no experience with the pertronix, but if that truck was mine a point distributor would in in it in short order. even if I jury rigged a toggle switch and a ballast resistor to power it up. jmho, bobn

3. Dana Strong

Dana Strong Lives in an IH Dealership

I don't know that system either but was unsure if you were getting no spark from the coil, or just not getting it at the correct plugs.
    Also, did this problem start on its own or after doing some work on the vehicle?

I seem to recall that there can be problems with some Pertronics systems; which one do you have? Somebody who knows them will want to know more such details

4. mallen

mallen Y-Block King