Harshterrain.com knuckles?

Discussion in 'General IH Tech' started by Brandon A., Sep 28, 2020.

1. Brandon A.

Brandon A. High Wheeler

Hello has anyone bought parts from: harshterrain.com? I am looking at buying some dana 44 flat top knuckles for high steer project and they have some made out of steel vs. iron. Knuckles are a very important part so I don't want them to fail with abuse.....

Looking on google it says steel are actually stronger than iron knuckles but I am no expert......
    -https://www.sae.org/publications/technical-papers/content/2004-01-0628/#:~:text=A%20vehicle%20steering%20knuckle%20undergoes,its%20design%20and%20performance%20evaluation.&text=It%20is%20concluded%20that%20the,iron%20and%20cast%20aluminum%20knuckles.

-http://www.harshterrain.com/offroadproducts.php#top#!/Steering-Knuckles/c/13535157/offset=0&sort=normal

-https://www.ebay.com/itm/passenger-...197217?hash=item41d9c148e1:g:nE4AAOSwZVpcjTb1

Thanks!!!

2. WRENCH MAN

WRENCH MAN Dreams of Cub Cadets

Those guys sound like scammers to me!
    ALL DANA knuckles are indeed CAST STEEL!, NONE of them, OEM or Aftermarket are forged, 2wd spindles are forged.
    Your like of comparison is in NO! way specific to application, PERIOD!, grade 2 bolts are softer than grade 5 bolts and they are softer than grade 8 bolts, that's all that artical says about metal.
    You link to harsh terrain :uhh: the driver side knuckle is ALL DAY EVERY DAY! chevy parts, there's a MILLION of those out there, you're paying for the new ball joints, nothing more!, that "drum brake" knuckle is for a FORD, their "steel" knuckle is an off shore copy of the OE DANA knuckle, MOST of the aftermarket parts I've seen are of questionable quality?

I've been working on this crap all day every day for the last 18 years, I wouldn't waste my $ on that aftermarket crap.

3. 72soa

72soa High Wheeler

Use the Chevy dana 44 knuckles. You need to find a disc brake chevy dana 44 from 1972-1977.

4. Brandon A.