Fixing up Betsy - '74 Scout II

Discussion in 'Binder Builds' started by Bussy, Oct 9, 2018.

1. Bussy

Bussy High Wheeler

Although this is not going to be a complete build, I wanted to have a place to fully document everything I'm doing on this Scout and hopefully some of it will be helpful to others and probably help me later to see what I did way back when. A fellow Scout buddy recently purchased this Scout and afterwards realized it had more issues than he was led to believe so I'm helping him out by getting it back to a drive-able and safe state. Oh, and btw, I am definitely no expert on any of this but I have done a lot of this type work before but I'm still learning as I go so if anyone sees or reads something I've done that is wrong or bad, whatever, please speak up. This is one of the reasons I like BP so much is the learning atmosphere and helpfulness of everyone on here.

On the list of to-do's:
    1. Replace axles - FRONT - currently SOA but front axle was not cut and turned and has a negative 5.5* caster. So I'm pulling the front axle and swapping in a cut and turned axle with positive 6* caster. This should fix most of the driveability issues like major death wobble. REAR - pinion points directly up to transfer case and has a standard U joint. If you've ever watched that old video on drive angles, you will know what this does to the rear diff gears, etc. So I'll be swapping out the rear axle with one that has a parallel angle to the transfer case.
    2. Replace stock knuckles - We are going to go high steer knuckles in order to get the front geometry between tie rod and drag link back to a suitable angle. It currently has some funky home made Z bar that although will "probably" work, it's pretty scary. So we will be using some Parts Mike high steer arms and some milled top knuckles for that.