Carb help???

Discussion in 'Southwest Scouts of Oklahoma' started by Taylor K, Jan 10, 2009.

1. Taylor K

Taylor K Farmall Cub

Ok, for starters, I have had very little carb experience. I was having carb trouble (engine would have a hard time starting and would stall randomly), so I had a friend that knows a little(much more than me) about carbs help me replace it with a holley 500 (I believe). My friend has since moved to Houston, and this new carb is not working right. The new carb is a 2 bbl with an electric choke.

Ok, so what is happening now is:

The good:
    Engine starts clean and strong (although it is pretty rich).

The bad:
    As RPM's increase, the engine begins to "bog" down. If I give it full throttle, the engine will die. I am not sure if it is starving for gas or if it is flooding or what. I was told to check vacuum hoses, but they are all connected. I have searched the forums and online and cannot find my exact issue so that I could try to troubleshoot.

I do not even know where to start! Please help! :confused:

2. Mike Scherr

Mike Scherr Farmall Cub

It starts and runs strong.

For how long?

Make sure your choke is opening as the trucks starts and warms up. If it is not, and the truck is "warmed up", as you try and increase throttle you are essentially "choking off" the air supply for the motor. 10-15 seconds after engine start, blip the throttle and see if the choke opens a little. 20 seconds later try it again. The choke should open up as the engine warms up.

If it is not, make sure you have a KEYED 12V power supply to the choke. When the truck is started the 12V heats a coil, opening the choke.

Good luck

3. ScoutFam

ScoutFam Farmall Cub