Build Plan

Discussion in 'Anything Scout' started by 63_scout_80, Jun 13, 2018.

1. 63_scout_80

63_scout_80 Farmall Cub

I am new to this forum, and forums in general. I just bought a 1963 Scout 80. I have a 2003 Chevy Silverado 1500 with a broken frame. I was hoping to steal as much of the drive train from the Chevy as possible and make the 63 into a daily driver. My goal is the raise it enough to look tough but not so much that it rides bad on the highway or has trouble entering parking garages. I am a weekend warrior mechanic but have descent wrench skills and mig welding skills. I am looking for guidance on a build plan. Is stealing the Chevy drivetrain a bad idea? what type of lift should i be looking at? I dont see a lot of sources for sheet metal, should i brush up on my english wheel skills or is there a source i haven't seen yet? What are some modern conveniences the more experienced forum members say i wont be able to live without, such as an upgrade to the wiper system?
    I know its a lot to ask but throwing it out there to see what i get. Thanks...

2. Mattd

Mattd Farmall Cub