1976 Scout II - Amateur Hour(s)

Discussion in 'Binder Builds' started by Kohler, Mar 19, 2019.

1. Kohler

Kohler Farmall Cub

**Disclaimer** I'm no mechanic by any sense of the word. I can build furniture, I built a house and garage, but I haven't done much more than change the oil in my vehicles. Never welded before. That doesn't change the fact that I have a Scout II on blocks in my garage half torn apart. The build threads here have been invaluable to me but I wasn't going to start one myself. Everyone does such excellent work and I didn't want to showcase my mediocrity. But I thought about it, and if what I put here can show someone some information they were looking for (or maybe show someone what not to do) it would be worth it.

I had been looking for a Scout II for about 8 years before I finally found one locally last spring. I'm in eastern Canada north of Maine and they're few and far between up here. This one popped up online a couple hours away so I called the guy and went to pick it up the next day. Overall it looked great for a 42 year old scout in our climate with salt on the winter roads. He was a backyard mechanic kinda guy that seemed to know a lot about Scouts. It had sat for a few years but started up and drove (kinda). I took it for a test drive and it was scaaaary. All over the road, like it had a mind of its own. And it wouldn't idle. I bought it anyway and took it home. The first issues I had to take care of were steering and idling.